people-hate-us-on-yelpMy son just finished his first year of college. He is a business major, and I am interested in the viewpoints of his age group of 19 to 20-year-olds. I asked him his perspective on social media and rating sites like “Yelp”, especially in the medical industry. I had to laugh when he responded, “These sites are good for when I want to find a burger, but not trying to find a doctor.” I did have a proud mom moment!

Though I may be a bit bias, I have to say I agree with him. I have never been one to follow the crowd. I would prefer to experience all that life has to offer and make my own mind up based on my experiences. I have found that the vast majority of people who post on these sites are usually malcontents and self-absorbed. As an Administrator of a physician practice, when a patient is trying to “get their way” they typically threaten to go to “Yelp”. It is a threat and a method of intimidation. Before “Yelp”, people would threaten to file a lawsuit or contact their Senator/Congressperson…even the President!

A good portion of patient demands are unreasonable or not in the best interest of patient care. Sometimes, the patient becomes threatening or abusive toward the staff, which results in the patient being fired from the practice. Unfortunately, due to HIPAA, there is no way to defend ourselves against these accusations. Those of us who experience this firsthand know that IF people were to hear the whole story, they would understand our perspective! Would you trust a drug-seeker who is mad because we would not provide opiates since the patient is on marijuana, albeit “legally” with a medical marijuana card? Perhaps the review you are reading is from someone who is upset that they have a high-deductible health plan, and now they owe money to their doctor.

I have discovered that some reviews are in error. I had a review that mentioned a particular physician that was never a member of our practice. The review was regarding a service that we have never provided. It is nearly impossible to redact these erroneous reviews. Why would one want to trust a review that was a mistake?

Then, there is the fact that Yelp will contact the business to “help” them with their business reviews and create more positive responses…for a price. A great article that discusses this can be found at:

Yelp and the Business of Extortion 2.0

Bottomline, leave the reviews to film or restaurant critics…and maybe not even then! Don’t trust strangers with ulterior motives in choosing your physician. Do you want your healthcare in the hands of a trained physician or an unknown person who is trying to lash out because they didn’t get their way?

